Rabbit Garden

This is currently a work in progress and will be edited in the future.

here is my resume. it's probably useless since you won't be able to hire me anyway, but I'm still inclined to share it

I still kind of hope the only one reading this is myself, if it's not... well, I hope you don't find it too boring.

quick notice: this is not a traditional resume. I pretty much tell my life story and what caused me to want to learn or make the stuff I made, so until 2021 it's a story of myself and how my mind worked throughout the years

first, i'll tell a lil story that is not too compelling since I am very much a normal person with no specific quirks

first, a quick introduction

I'm fairly normal and have been fairly normal throughout my whole life. I don't even know what a GPA is so don't ask me, I'm not from the US. That all changed when I decided to pursue programming. I instantly became worse at everything else, school, social relationships, everything pretty much became a distraction from my one true goal: learning to program and mastering it

that happened when I was around 15yo and quite literally couldn't stop.

I'm 21 now and noticed I haven't mastered shit. I'm still learning; I can do some stuff, can't do other stuff and it'll probably be like this for the rest of my life. I managed to "build a career" but I don't believe in that stuff. I build what I like with the people I like and try to live a comfortable life.

I also won't be disclosing company names. If you want it enough you can stalk me on LinkedIn, but then you're either a recruiter (in which case leave this website now, I hate you more than anyone else in this world), a creep or my friend, in which case you've probably already heard it from me.

Now that we got introductions out of the way


coelhod's journey

2011 - 2015: I discovered C, Assembly and Java. C because I wanted to make games, Assembly because I was a stupid kid, and Java because I wanted to make Minecraft mods.

I had the breakthrough kids had with BASIC in the 80's and 90's with C in the early 2010's. I was around 8 years old and loved to play videogames, specifically retro games. I even begged my family for an Atari 2600 and they couldn't really understand why the hell I wanted a console that my dad had as a kid around the same time the PS4 was coming out. Needless to say, I wanted to make games for old consoles. Not new consoles, old ones.

I admired the Magnavox Odyssey and how it worked, I loved how creative the early solutions to make people have fun with electronics were, and most of all: I adored Pokémon.

I wanted to build romhacks so I tried to build them.

I wanted to make Minecraft mods so I tried to make them.

I wanted to make games so I tried to make them too.

But I was fucking 10, and my parents weren't tech savvy (or "tech anything", to be honest). My efforts went in the entirely wrong direction and I ended up trying to write C in Code::Blocks and then Assembly because a tutorial was on the YouTube recommended section. I still like how everything turned out, but I can't help but wonder what would happen if I had some incentive starting out.

So I tried to learn all of that, made some very bad Minecraft mods and some C text-based games that were not what you would normally call compelling. I never even knew C++ was actually the de facto language for games and thought it was some other random thing that Code::Blocks also supported. I didn't know what a compiler was or what it did, but then again, I was very young and didn't know better.

2016 - 2017 Depression break

I was really in the most terrible mind state I could ever imagine even today, which is not very good at the age of 13. So I gave up on everything and spent these 2 years living on autopilot crying every night and wondering why I was so sad.

I liked music, so I wrote songs to describe what I was feeling at the time and usually sung myself to sleep. These times weren't fun and I felt no one was trustworthy enough for me to confide in.

Bad interpersonal relationships, terrible school performance, a general revolt at the school system and some disagreements with my family made this time very hard on me and on people around me.

I did absolutely nothing these 2 years of my life until late 2017 when I sold my computer and got my gaze fixed on becoming a programmer again. Now for my entire life.

2018 - 2021: Unemployed and on a quest to become less shit at programming

I tried as hard as I could to improve fast. Started with Udemy and ate terrible courses for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Ended up getting familiar with web development technologies like PHP (before it got good), HTML/CSS/JS with some sprinkle of jQuery, Node.JS backends with Express, some Python and some R because for 3 months I went insane and wanted to be a data scientist.

I took so many freelance jobs and was always trying to build new stuff. I chewed through so many bootcamps, courses and web things that my mind was rotting, I wasn't truly grokking programming, I was learning something that kind of resembled it without understanding what I was writing, mostly just copying and pasting code all over.

Keep in mind that I had no programming foundational knowledge at this point, and wouldn't try to research actual programming until the end of 2019, when I went through the entirety of OSSU's curriculum. There, I learned actual mathematics that I never learned in school, which helped me excel at HS math without any additional effort (pretty much the only thing I was good at in HS was math and philosophy), algorithms, programming constructs, FPGAs, chip design and all the very fun stuff that I didn't even realize existed.

I wanted to be a programmer but didn't even know what a semiconductor was. I was so embarrassed at myself! How can I ever believe I'm good at something when I'm so clearly sub-par? But there was no other way to improve, I had to embrace the suck and accept my effort was directed to the wrong places.

Got into college in 2021 (unwillingly) solely for the purpose of making my parents happy. I never intended to finish it, and if I kept being bugged about it, I figured I'd just leave home as soon as I could support myself.

I wanted to prove everyone wrong. That I could be someone extraordinary.

Then I noticed: I am completely normal, have no exceptional abilities and every piece of knowledge I acquired was a fruit of raw curiosity. Also, I had very few people I really wanted to prove wrong, no one was doubting me that much.

Then my quest pivoted:

I want to prove to myself that I can live life without guidance.

If you asked me now: "Did you make it?" I'd probably tell you

"kind of".

Sep 2021 - Mar 2022: Software Engineering Intern at [X] research facility